The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

ECTS grading scale

European Credit Transfer System-credits


The ECTS grading style is used within the SASOL-programme.

The European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) helps make higher education comparable across Europe, allowing greater student mobility.

As a student your performance will be graded from A-F based on your fulfillment of the learning outcomes stated in the syllabus for that particular course.

  • A : Excellent – outstanding performance with only minor errors
  • B : Very good – above the average standard but with some error
  • C : Good – generally sound work with a number of notable errors
  • D: Satisfactory – fair but with significant shortcomings
  • E : Sufficient – performance meets the minimum criteria
  • F : Fail – Not good enough – considerable work is required

European flags.